Vows & Precepts

The Four Vows of the Bodhisattva

Sentient beings are numberless, I vow to free them.
Delusions are inexhaustible, I vow to transform them.
The dharmas are boundless, I vow to embody them.
The Buddha Way is unsurpassable, I vow to awaken.

The 16 Bodhisattva Precepts

The Three Treasures

Be one with the Buddha
Be one with the Dharma
Be one with the Sangha

The Three Pure Precepts

Do not commit evil
Do good
Do good for others

The Ten Grave Precepts

I vow to appreciate and affirm all life and not kill.
I vow to respect others’ possessions and not steal.
I vow to honor the body and not be greedy.
I vow to be truthful and not lie.
I vow to be sober, attentive, and not cloud the mind.
I vow to see the perfection and not talk about others’ errors and faults.
I vow to realize self and others as one cannot elevate myself and blame others.
I vow to be generous and giving and not be withholding.
I vow to be happy, compassionate, and not hate others.
I vow to experience the intimacy of things and not speak ill the Buddha, Dharma, and Sangha.

A note about the word Bodhisattva. The term bodhisattva is a term used to describe a follower of the Buddha’s teaching. There are many qualities, duties, and attributes associated with the term, but the primary vow of the bodhisattva is to alleviate suffering.